Artwork

First Scribbles




After our first brainstorming session, Charlotte Reibell, my set designer and collaborator, came up with these scribbles. They are remarkably close to what we have ended up going with. I don’t know why I am surprised, she is brilliant.

Octopus? Check. Crocodile? Check. At this point, I had planned to perform around all sides of the wagon, taking my audience with me. That is why there is a world map of marvels on one side with a ladder. I have gone off that idea - but it is one of those things that can only really be tested with an audience.

I have always wanted to perform a more freestyle form of one man show, one that would evolve and grow, like a stand up comedy routine, to be adjusted and tweaked to suit every kind of audience, young or old, and every occasion.

An ‘A to Z’ of 26 boxes, The Stuffed Crocodile oddities on display - can be changed, props can be swapped, I can drop things altogether to lighten or darken the tone to suit the audience.

This is a wagon of myths, monsters and impossible things - to inspire wonder and amazement, shrieks of delight or fearful shudders.